Travel Log # 8 Egypt Part 2 Pyramids 1998

What an exciting day when we went to see the pyramids. It was like a dream come true. We even got to go inside one! The pyramids are so old Abraham probably saw them when he was travelling! That fact blows my mind! An old Egyptian saying is Everybody fears time but Time fears the Pyramids!

This diagram, in picture 1 shows the passageway going into the pyramid. C- the present day entrance (where we went in), d-lower corridor, f-ascending corridor, h-burial chamber.

For those of you who know the pyramids Pic 2 is of Khufu (Cheops), Khafre (Chephren) and Menkaure (Mycerinus). Pyramids were made of large local limestones and casing of fine white Tura limestone.

Pic 3 is a close up of Khafre. It’s the only one having a portion, at the very top, of the original covering in Tura limestone remaining.

Pic 7 is me inside a pyramid! I never dreamed we get to go inside one! I’m sitting on a granite slab.  Part of the way in we had to be bent over. They warned anyone with back or heart problems not to even attempt to go in. The diagram at the top shows how we went in. I wanted it to be last in the pictures but as usual the pictures go where they want, not where I want!

Pics 6 & 8 are the Sphinx. How exciting to view this. It’s 57 meters long and 20 meters high. It means “Father of Terror.”  It represents a lion with a human head. It was made of limestone from the Gaza plateau. It’s actually been covered with sand several times!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Africa, Egypt, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Log # 8 Egypt Part 2 Pyramids 1998

  1. Pondering Something says:

    How amazing these things are. I would love to go there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

