Travel Log # 8 Egypt Climbing Mt Sinai 1998

Here we were in Egypt! We were in the Sinai Peninsula at St Catherine’s Village.  We stayed in a cabin here because we were given an opportunity of a life time! Did we want to climb Mt. Sinai? Wake up call was 1:00 AM! We would be climbing the mountain by 2:00 AM! Could we do it? We’re retired, not in the best of shape. Could we do it…of course we could do it!!! And we did!!!

The purpose of going in the night was so we’d be on the mountain top to view the sun rise!  And what a sight it was! Is this what Moses saw when he climbed Mt Sinai?

Another group who had also climbed the mountain, but from a different route, were also excited to see the sun rise and began singing the Doxology…in German! Yes, they were a group from Germany.

They offer camels to ride but Jerry and I love to hike so we both said no, we’d walk.

We had a full moon which really lit our way! We didn’t even need flashlights! The mountain trail isn’t lit up with street lights! But the moon was perfect!

The moon was lighting our way, we had our bottled water, we were in love, everything was just right!

But…it was soon too much for me. I was having to stop and rest every few steps. A young boy with a camel was trailing me and trying to get me to ride his camel. But I was determined to walk. Then,

completely out of breath, I sat down again. The boy said to me, “Lady, I worry about you! You cannot climb this mountain! It is too steep and too high! You MUST ride my camel!” I wonder where he learned to speak English?! I finally agreed and he helped me get on his camel. It was a very nice, smooth ride! But that left Jerry to walk alone. I felt really bad. He still refused to ride a camel. Thank goodness for friends. Our new friend, Ann, walked with him.

Camels can’t go the last part of the climb because some Monks put in steps made of boulders and rocks! Camels can’t climb steps! So I went as far as I could on the camel and then I waited for Jerry and Ann to catch up. It took us three and a half hours to climb the mountain, But we made it! We climbed Mt. Sinai!

I rode a camel and Jerry walked the entire way.  It was so beautiful! Mountains in every direction. We watched our full moon set in the west. This was an unbelievable experience for Jerry and me. We’ll never forget it.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Africa, Egypt, Jerry, Me, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Log # 8 Egypt Climbing Mt Sinai 1998

Leave a Reply

