Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 21 Reflections

Our trip to Israel was an experience we’ll never forget. This is a picture of the Garden of Gethsemane. Just look at the size of those trees! I wonder how old they are?! I couldn’t help but think of Jesus praying there in the garden. There’s so much I could write here…

Going to visit the empty tomb of Jesus was a very moving experience. After viewing the empty tomb our group sat down together while our leader, Dr. Williams, gave us a brief devotional. Then we had communion together. It was another very moving experience. We kept our little wooden communion cups and still have them.

Jerry wrote a paragraph reflecting on his feeling about our trip. With his permission, I’ll post it here.

Anticipation

When thinking about going  to the Holy Land I was full of wonder, and once we got there I wasn’t disappointed. I walked where Jesus walked!

I wanted to see the Jordan River, Jerusalem, The Wailing Wall, the Jericho Road, and the Sea of Galilee. But when we got to the Garden  Tomb I was deeply stirred. It was a beautiful place in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem. There you can view the hill side, which may, in fact, be Calvary. The Place of the Skull is on the side of the hill. Just a short distance away is the tomb, where it is believed, Jesus was laid. As I walked to the tomb there were many International people taking communion and on the tomb door it said, “He is not here. He is risen.” Then we also had a communion service.

The angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for  Jesus, who was crucified. He is not here; He has risen, just as He said. Come and see the place where He laid.”  Matthew 28:5 & 6

Jesus was crucified but He rose from the dead! He is alive! He is risen! What a great God we serve!

My journey to the Holy Land meant more to me because of being at the Garden Tomb.        –Jerry 

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm now in my eighties! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a great-grandma now! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I've just retired from writing and editing a newsletter, Prime Time News, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Asia, Israel, Jerry, Me, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 21 Reflections

  1. Pondering Something says:

    Thank you for sharing this with us. It is very special.

    Like

  2. I was examining some of your blog posts on this internet site and I conceive this web site is rattling informative! Continue posting.

    Like

Leave a comment