Travel Log # 7 Israel Jerusalem Part 16 1998

Jerusalem. There is so much to say about Jerusalem, it’s mind boggling. I’m going to only write a little of the most impressive parts to me. Here we were at the The Western Wall. (Ha-Kotel Ha-Ma’aravi)  the holiest of Jewish sites, sacred because it is a remnant of the Herodian retaining wall that once enclosed and supported the Second Temple. It has also been called the “Wailing Wall” by European observers because for centuries Jews have gathered here to lament the loss of their temple. There are cracks in the wall where folks stick their prayer requests written on slips of paper. Pic 1 is the women’s side for prayer,

Pic 2 is the men’s side.

To me these are very sad sights.

Pic 3 is the Dome of the Rock. The sacred rock over which the Dome of the Rock is built was considered holy before the arrival of Islam This stone is believed to be the place from which the Prophet Muhammad ascended into heaven during his Night Journey to heaven..

Jews believe the rock to be the very place where Abraham prepared to sacrifice Isaac.  In addition, the Dome of the Rock is believed  to stand directly over the site of the Holy of Holies of both Solomon’s Temple and Herod’s Temple.

The most famous Islamic site is the Dome of the Rock (Qubbat as-Sakhrah). An impressive and beautiful edifice, the Dome of the Rock can be seen from all over Jerusalem. It is the crowning glory of the Haram es-Sharif (“Noble Sanctuary”), or

The Dome of the Rock is not a mosque, but a Muslim shrine.

I serve a Risen Savoir, He’s in the world today. I know that He is living, He’s in my heart today.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Asia, Israel, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Log # 7 Israel Jerusalem Part 16 1998

  1. I like the valuable info you provide to your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am rather certain I will learn lots of new stuff right right here! Good luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

