Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 10 Nazareth 1998

As interesting as all that history and all those ruins were it was a welcome sight to actually walk through a town in existence today. Nazareth. Where Jesus grew up.

Pic 1 was supposed to be last. It’s our group sitting in the synagogue listening to Dr. Williams teaching us. Jerry is the third person and I’m fourth in the row of people.

Pic 2 is a street where Jesus once walked! As we walked along basking in the knowledge that Jesus had actually walked here too, Jerry suddenly burst out singing, “I Walked Today Where Jesus Walked…” I’m sure many folks have sung that song as they walked the streets, just like we were. But this was special, he didn’t sing loudly but just for him and Jesus and me! It was a time and a song I will never forget.

Pic 3The city of Nazareth.

Pic 4 is inside the Synagogue where Jesus taught.

16 He went to Nazareth, where he had been brought up, and on the Sabbath day he went into the synagogue, as was his custom. He stood up to read, 17 and the scroll of the prophet Isaiah was handed to him. Unrolling it, he found the place where it is written:

 18 “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, 
   because he has anointed me 
   to proclaim good news to the poor. 
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners 
   and recovery of sight for the blind, 
to set the oppressed free, 
   19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”[f]                                                                                                    20 Then he rolled up the scroll, gave it back to the attendant and sat down. The eyes of everyone in the synagogue were fastened on him. 21 He began by saying to them, “Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.”      Luke 4:16-21

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Asia, History, Israel, Jerry, Me, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 10 Nazareth 1998

  1. Hello. fantastic job. I did not imagine this. This is a great story. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

