Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 4 Valley of Elah 1998

The Valley of Elah. Oh, one of my most pleasurable places to visit! This is where David killed Goliath! I stood in awe to think I was actually standing where the story took place. But it wasn’t just a story, it was reality. I could picture Goliath standing on the hill on the left and David shouting back to him. You can read the story in I Samuel 17.

Pic 1 is me picking up five smooth stones!

Pic 2 is a man demonstrating how David used his sling. We bought one from the man, of course!

45 David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the LORD will deliver you into my hands,… for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.”    48 As the Philistine moved closer to attack him, David ran quickly toward the battle line to meet him.49 Reaching into his bag and taking out a stone, he slung it and struck the Philistine on the forehead. The stone sank into his forehead, and he fell face down on the ground. 50 So David triumphed over the Philistine with a sling and a stone; without a sword in his hand he struck down the Philistine and killed him.       I Samuel 17:45-46a, 47b-50

Pic 3 The Valley of Elah where David killed Goliath.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Death, Israel, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 4 Valley of Elah 1998

  1. I genuinely enjoy reading through on this website, it contains great articles.

    Like

  2. mon ex says:

    Real clean website, appreciate it for this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

