Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 2 Masada 1998

Masada. I must admit that in my ignorance I had never heard of Masada! I had a lot to learn. It’s a good thing I love history!!! It was very fascinating!

Masada is situated on top of on isolated mountain and was a fortress for centuries. It’s located on the eastern side of the Judean Desert, close to the west side of the Dead Sea, between Sodom and Ein Gedi. Masada goes back to Hasmonean times.

Pic 1 & 2  We rode a cable car up and then still had to walk up 80 steps!

Pic 3 is looking through a hole in the wall!

King Herod, who ruled under the Roman patronage, chose Masada as a place of refuge from potential enemies. On Masada he built fortifications and splendid palaces for himself and his entourage.

Pic 5 shows a room of the bathhouse which actually had cold, warm and hot rooms! Hot air from the furnace was forced under the floor of the hot room which was raised on small columns!

Pic 6 Mosaic, or what is left of it,  in the western palace!

Pic 7 Jerry and me descending the mountain. My legs ached for four days after being at Masada!

Pic 8 Masada at a distance.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Israel, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel Log # 7 Israel Part 2 Masada 1998

  1. Kathy McFadden says:

    Beautiful photos! and a lovely journey!!

    Like

  2. Thanks Kathy. I wish I had a better camera but I’m thankful I have one and thankful we could make this journey!

    Like

  3. I reckon something truly special in this website.

    Like

  4. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

