Travel Log #6 Jordan, Petra 1998

If you ever go to Jordan, Petra is a must see! It’s unbelievable!

Picture 1 walking through this gorge to get to the unbelievable…

Picture 2 One of my favorite flowers! Lily of the Valley!

This is so amazing! It rates up with the World’s Seven Wonders in my book!

This village is all hand carved in sand and rock and has been here for thousands of years! People lived here!

Petra is a historical and archaeological city in the Jordanian governorate of Ma’an. It’s famous for its rock cut architecture and water conduits system. Established sometime around the 6th century BC as the capital city of the Nabataeans, it is a symbol of Jordan as well as its most visited tourist attraction It lies on the slope of Mount Hor in a basin among the mountains which form the eastern flank of Arabah (Wadi Araba), the large valley running from the Dead Sea to the Gulf of Aqaba. (This paragraph I copied from Wikipedia.)

Pictures 3 & 4 First of all, we rode horses to get closer. I love horse back riding!

I only took a few pictures…there is sooooo much more to see…the spectacular ‘city of the dead’, with it’s gorge, ancient streets, temples, dwelling places and tombs, all carved in the solid rock.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Asia, Jordan, Traveling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Travel Log #6 Jordan, Petra 1998

  1. Rattling superb visual appeal on this internet site, I’d value it 10.

    Like

  2. ex copain says:

    I and also my friends came examining the nice advice found on your web blog then before long I had a terrible suspicion I had not expressed respect to the web blog owner for those secrets. All of the boys are actually as a result warmed to learn them and have now pretty much been enjoying them. We appreciate you simply being well kind as well as for settling on variety of beneficial topics millions of individuals are really eager to learn about. My honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to earlier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

