The Netherlands Part 5 Haarlem

One day Vivian asked where we would like to go in The Netherlands, anywhere, the one place we’ve always wanted to go to. Without hesitation at all I said, “I would like to see the ten Boom Watch Shop and the Hiding Place.” “Oh, where is that?” she asked. They had never heard of Corrie ten Boom and her famous story of the hiding place! I told her it’s in Haarlem.

Oh dear, it was quite a ways away and she didn’t know her way around Haarlem. Wouldn’t we like to see Anne Frank’s house? I said no, that while I have read Anne Frank’s Diary, I only want to see Corrie ten Boom’s house and watch shop. Vivian finally agreed. Tom and Jasper would go along too. Ronald had to go to work.

The next morning we headed toward Haarlem. It took a couple of hours to drive there and when we arrived she had no idea where to go. We found a parking garage and started walking! I knew the name of the street the clock shop was on from the book.  It was so neat seeing the people and the buildings. Finally, finally we saw a street sign that told us we were headed in the right direction! I loved walking and seeing the people and the architecture of the buildings. This is a beautiful canal in Haarlem. It was worth the trip just to see Haarlem even if we never found what we were looking for!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Europe, The Netherlands, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Netherlands Part 5 Haarlem

  1. Kathy McFadden says:

    Love it all Anita..keep the stories coming!!!

    Like

  2. Definitely, what a splendid website and illuminating posts, I surely will bookmark your blog.All the Best!

    Like

  3. I conceive other website proprietors should take this internet site as an model, very clean and good user genial pattern.

    Like

Leave a Reply

