The Netherlands Travel Log #1

Jerry and I went to The Netherlands in 1994! Was it really that long ago?! We flew into Schiphol Airport between Amsterdam and Haarlem. Our hostess, Vivian, was there to meet us with her mother, Annie. We drove to St Jansteen, a suburb of Hulst, near the Belgium border. We actually drove through a portion of Belgium to get to Hulst and St Jansteen!

The picture is of a city gate of Hulst, built in the early 1600’s!

There were bikes everywhere!

The picture of the mother with her two children was quite typical. She put one child in front and one behind. This bike has a wind break with a visor!

Okay, the bride on a bike was a post card I found!

Even old ladies ride bikes!

St Willibrord’s Catholic Church. Construction on this church began about 1200! It was completed 250 years later!

This picture of the airport was supposed to be first but it refuses to be first. So here it is.

On the way from the airport to St Jansteen we got caught in a huge traffic tie-up. There was an accident way up the line that was the cause. We sat for over an hour. Here Jerry got out to stretch his legs. A man come over and started a conversation with him but he didn’t give Jerry a chance to say he didn’t speak Dutch! He finally stopped…maybe he had asked a question! Anyway, Jerry let him know he only speaks English. The man walked away in disgust!

The picture below Jerry is of Vivian. You can see what a traffic tie up it was!

This trip was a gift, we stayed with Vivian’s family in their new home in St Jansteen. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Church, Europe, Friends, The Netherlands, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Netherlands Travel Log #1

  1. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my site =). We can have a link alternate contract between us

    Like

  2. I will immediately grasp your rss as I can not find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  3. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

    Like

  4. Respect to op, some superb information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

