Happy Birthday, Jerry

Happy Happy Birthday, Jerry! This day certainly didn’t turn out the way we expected it to! Here’s what was planned…Going to Lanny’s for breakfast. Fixing a fried chicken dinner with apple pie and inviting Rob’s family over for the birthday dinner.

Here’s what took place…Went to Lanny’s for breakfast with Rob. Thank you, Rob. I gave him the three new shirts I bought for him. Jerry cooked scalloped potatoes with Polish sausage for supper. A friend, Rose, brought an apple pie from Grand Traverse Pie Company! Haleigh and Elmise came over with a plate of brownies with a candle in the middle. They sang Happy Birthday to Grandpa! It was sweet.

In case you don’t know the reason for the change in birthday plans…it’s my fault! Yesterday afternoon I was diagnosed with Shingles! I thought it was just a sciatic nerve problem that could be remedied with physical therapy! Not so simple.

So he’s taking care of me. Shingles is very painful.

Ten years ago, on his birthday, I slipped in the ice and broke my arm! He spent seventeen hours in the hospital with me! That was not a good birthday either! He told me this morning, “Next year I’m not going to tell you when it’s my birthday!”

He deserves so much more than this. He’s a very good Christian man, husband, father, grandfather, brother, uncle, cousin, friend and neighbor.

Thank You, Heavenly Father, for Jerry. Please keep him in good health. Thank You for blessing him over the years. Watch over him, give him strength, watch over him as the years go slipping by so rapidly. I love him so much and You love him even more!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Birthday, Family, Jerry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday, Jerry

  1. Pam says:

    Tell Dad Happy Birthday for me! Sounds like he is doing a good job taking care of you.

    Like

  2. This really answered my problem, thank you!

    Like

  3. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks!

    Like

  4. Effy Read says:

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for beginner blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Like

  5. I must say this is one with the most well crafted posts, that I have seen for this topic in a very long time. Well done!

    Like

  6. Thanks for your post. I am going to definitely be using these types of ideas and thinking more and more about what I am really doing right with my YouTube accounts dedicated to some of the ideas you have mentioned. My partner is also considering the way it would be if I launched a blog discussing some of the same issues you have dealt with here. Many thanks showing me that thing so obvious. I had been blinded from it. Your post has truly made an impact on the way I think about my own work and ideas also.

    Like

  7. This post helped me smile, its been a lengthy time since I read something so interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

