Skipping Christmas

Jerry and I enjoy reading books together. I read, he listens. We just finished reading Skipping Christmas by John Grisham. It’s a small book, not at all like his other books that have to do with court cases and mysteries. He’s one of my favorite authors. We usually read one chapter a day but several days we read two chapters and today we just kept on reading and finished the book. I think I read four or five chapters today! We had to find out how it ended! There was a big surprise at the end! My voice broke at one point!

I should say that always we’ve read books that are spiritual in content. Skipping Christmas doesn’t even come close to the real meaning of Christmas but it was a fun book to read and somehow shows what the world is missing out on. It makes me even more grateful for the Christ of Christmas. “The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel”  (which means God with us”). Matthew 1:23  NIV

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skipping Christmas

  1. Sue Husted says:

    I’m cherishing the thought of you and Jerry reading together. Yes sometimes reading a secular piece does give us a heads up on the world view and make us very thankful for being in the family of God and celebrating Christ’s birth with praise and thanksgiving. Love reading you blog. You always inspire me. Hugs…

    Like

  2. You inspire me too! I am going to try and find Skipping Christmas and read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

