A New Day

I have been rather down for the last few days. I’m not sure why. Well, maybe I’m worried about getting old. I AM old. I’ve left the burner on, after cooking, several times. Jerry usually discovers it and that’s bad. I burned a hot dog so badly it had to be tossed and I nearly ruined my smallest pan. I’m trying to be more alert. Maybe I have too many things on my mind.

Last night as I laid awake for hours I thought about my sewing machine and why it wouldn’t sew for me. Slowly the thought came to me that I needed to make sure the thread from the bobbin was on the right side so the thread from the needle could catch it as it came around. Today I decided to check it out…yes, it worked! I was able to sew a project I had and complete it! Oh boy, any dumbo should know that!

I watched a really good movie a couple of nights ago in the middle of the night. The problem is it was a few minutes into the movie so I missed the title. I have no idea what it was but it was a good story!

I take medicine for restless leg syndrome and lately I’ve wondered if it could be keeping me awake at night. I’ve got to check this out with my doctor next time I see him but that won’t be until February. It says it might cause drowsiness, but for me it might cause a lack of sleep!

Christmas shopping is coming along. I’m not done yet though. Maybe this is why I’m down in the dumps. I do remember that Jesus is the reason for season! Wise men/women still seek Him!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A New Day

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Anita, you are not alone. I think there are a lot of people out there, including me sometimes, that get down during the Christmas season. The shopping and going to endless dinners, plays, concerts, programs for the kids and grandkids, and then intersperse it with the car breaking down or someone dies and there is a funeral, putting up lights, trees, decorating etc. then the baking and all. I’m starting to view it all as… how did I keep up that pace. Well sometimes I didn’t, and sometimes I yelled, or cried or got out of town. I keep telling myself that I can do it, but this body and most of all brain doesn’t perform like it once did. and I sort of refuse to admit it. I sure have been doing a lot of thinking about the past and sometimes it is fun, and sometimes it isn’t. We are going to a funeral tomorrow, for a man on our very first pastorate in Snover. It will trigger lots of memories I’m sure. I already put one on my blog. Then I start thinking I wonder how long I have here on this earth. And I want to be positive and make a difference. I used to beat myself up, (not really, but figuretively) all the time if I did something forgetful or dumb, and then I decided God wouldn’t treat me that way, I shouldn’t either. He helped me to be kind to the one he made. So I excuse myself and go on. This year, I have to admit, I wasn’t quite ready for fall and really not ready for winter and Christmas and all that goes along with it. It seemed they started advertising Christmas way too soon. And that whole black Friday thing, I’m really non-participating in that. I had about 3 days I was quite depressed, couldn’t get motivated and just sat and drank hot cocoa and listened to soothing music. Slept a little extra, and finally I kicked in and got with it… put up some decorations etc. Gave myself some room and that helped a lot. I think we are our own worst critic, and task masters. Anyway, I pray that you will be able to enjoy the season, and even though we are growing old, remember what Ruth said, “The best is yet to come, even while we are here.” Love you, Hugs, Sue

    Like

  2. Gail Slawson says:

    Your lack of sleep is probably causing most of your problems. It’s so very important in overcoming the problems you mentioned. (forgetfulness. down-in-the dumps feeling, thinking about self, etc) Try to get that problem solved and get several good nights sleep and then see how you feel. Also, read about people older than you, that accomplished much in the Lord’s work, and focus on what you can do for Him. I’m sure the Lord still had much work for you, especially in the area of praying earnestly and diligently for others, and smile with a thankful heart 🙂

    Like

  3. Pam says:

    Poor Mom! Are you trying to do too many things at once, so you aren’t paying enough attention each thing? You love this holiday, so just relax, cut a few things off your list and enjoy the season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

