Veteran’s Day

My favorite veteran! Jerry was in the National Guard during Viet Nam.

My brother, Richard, was in the Army during the Korean Conflict.

My nephew, Roger, was in National Guard.

My son-in-law, Sean, was in the army.

My nephew, Woody, was in Desert Storm.

Jerry’s brother, Bob, was in WW II.

My cousin, LJ, on my dad's side of the family, was in WW II. He's still living today!

My Uncle Richard. My mother’s brother lost both legs in WW II.

My second cousin, Louis, on my dad's side of the family. Louie was killed in WW I on the last day of the war.

Jerry’s brother, Jim, was in the army during the Korean Conflict.

Today is the day we remember all veterans. I have several in my family I’d like to honor here.

I found this and would like to copy it here. I don’t know who wrote it.

What Is A Veteran? A “veteran’ – whether active duty, discharged, retired or reserve – is someone who at one point in his/her life, wrote a blank check made payable to “The United States of America” for an amount of “up to and including his/her life.” That is honor. There are way to many people in this country who no longer understand that fact.

My brother-in-law, Roger, was in the Navy during WW II.

I also have a nephew, Bob, who was in the army and served in Viet Nam. (No picture)

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Military. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Veteran’s Day

  1. Pam says:

    Very nice! Thank you for the history lesson in our family. We have a lot to be thankful for.

    Like

  2. Tim Archer says:

    Thanks for the reminder, we do have alot to be thankful for.

    Like

  3. http://weddingandfunction.com/?m=201010 Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

    Like

  4. Elna Howie says:

    Good stuff… Just killing some time at work rubbaging around and found your post. Good looking site. I will have to add your page to come back. Cheers Free Modern Warfare 3!

    Like

  5. Laura Cameron says:

    Hi Anita! 🙂 I’m not quite sure how I got to this page, I was originally on the Home-Military page. I guess there are many more Military pages though. (this blog stuff is all so new to me) But I just wanted to say reading about our family members who have been at war had me in awe the whole time. I know so little about our family history, and I am so grateful that you DO know! 🙂 Because I am now a proud ancestor of people who have served our country. How amazing. Thank you for sharing all this! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, Laura, for reading it! Thanks for looking up my blog! We have a rich heritage. Not rich in money but rich in experiences! And let me just say here that I’m proud to be your great-aunt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

