Happy Halloween/Happy Birthday

Today is the day! Halloween, I mean my birthday! What a day for a birthday!!! When I was a kid no one was interested in birthday cake…let’s go trick or treating! Yes, back in my day we all went trick or treating. It was such a fun day! Everyone was trying to decide how to dress up. We couldn’t afford to go to the store and buy a costume. We made them up with odds and ends! It was so fun!

Deciding for me was no problem however because it was my birthday! I was a witch every year! What else would I be? There wasn’t evil in it…just fun! I simply wore a black coat and I made a tall tapered black hat. Simple…

Somewhere a long the line folks got the idea that Halloween was evil. Well, maybe if you read about the history of All Saints Day or Halloween but we didn’t care about that…we just wanted fun and candy. That’s what Halloween meant to us kids. Fun and candy.

I was interviewed on a Christian radio station one time years ago about my views on Halloween. I was honest. Did you go trick or treating as a child? Yes, every year. Did you dress up in a costume? Of course. Was it a nursery rhyme character or a spooky character? I was a witch every year because it was my birthday! Oh, well, thank you for your views! Good-bye. Good-bye.

So trick or treating was stopped by many people. A lot of kids missed out on a lot of fun. I’ve noticed lately that some folks are getting back into it! Yes, the pendulum seems to be swinging.

We’ve given out lots of candy over the years but now we live in a woods and no one braves our long driveway through the trees for a treat.

Well, Jerry is taking me out for supper so we may not be home in time anyway for any little brave souls.

What is Halloween to you? An evil day or a fun day filled with love, fun and candy?

This is me today. Many years after those trick or treating years! Do I look like I would have been a witch?

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Birthday, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Halloween/Happy Birthday

  1. Pam says:

    Happy Birthday Mom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

