Veterans Day, Nov 11

World War I Veteran.

Veterans Day is coming up, November 11. I have an idea for honoring our veterans in our church, all of our veterans.

As some of you know I’m the editor and writer of a newsletter for the prime time folks at our church. I enjoy doing this and feel honored to think it’s my job! I’m embarrassed by the first few years but then my brother, who is a writer, helped me out…a lot! So while he’s not helping me any more I’m now proud to be editor of Prime Time News. So Veteran’s Day will be featured and highlighted in the November 6, 2011 Prime Time News.

Now here’s my idea. I’m looking up names of each veteran, the branch of the military they were in and the years they served. I’m starting with World War I. I have two men who served. The next is World War II. Then the Korean Conflict, Viet Nam, Desert Storm, etc. Altogether I have 48 names so far. I know there are more… I’m also putting in one picture from each time period. It’s shaping up nicely. However I don’t want to leave anyone out. I’ve made many phone calls and have had folks help me out on facebook. Do you know of anyone who has attended MFMC, in the past or now, who served in the military? Even if you think I might have a name tell me anyway so no one is left out. I know I’m taking a chance here on hurting someone because I may leave someone out. It won’t be on purpose and I will write a disclaimer at the end. It’s an exciting project. I’ve had some interesting conversations and contacts with folks I never would have had.

I hoping to hear from someone here…

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Church, Prime Time News, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

