My Cousin

Mother, myself and Mabel.

I met my cousin, Mabel, and her friend, Linda, in the Denver airport. I came from Michigan and they came from Oregon. Mabel is my dad’s oldest brother’s daughter so that makes us cousins. Mabel is 89 years old and was very brave to make this trip. I’ll be ever so thankful for her friend, Linda, who accompanied her. I have a new friend in Linda!

Mabel and I didn’t really know each other growing up. She lived in Minnesota and I lived in Iowa, Oklahoma, and Illinois. She’s 17 years older than I am so it’s not like we would have played together anyway. We’ve seen each other at a few family gatherings over the past several years, but it’s hard to get close when there are lots of folks around. This trip we both stayed at Bill’s (my brother) house so we had time to talk and laugh and I feel like I finally know Mabel!

In this picture we’re eating breakfast. Vel’s delicious pumpkin pancakes! They are sooooo good! (Vel is my sister-in-law.)

I hope I’ll get to see Mabel again sometime. Family is too precious to not keep in touch.

My cousin, Mabel, from Oregon.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

