Neighborhood Cookout

The kids eating at the kids table.

If we lived in town I guess you would say we had a block party. But since we live in the country we call it a neighborhood cookout. Whatever you want to call it we had one this evening! It turned out really nice. Even though it was chilly, the camp fire made it cozy! There were 26 folks who came of all ages. We had lots and lots of food! It was all so good! We cooked hamburgers and hot dogs on the grill. Everyone brought a salad or dessert. We also made s’mores, those that wanted too. We’d never met most of our neighbors before so we were excited to see who’d come. We invited more but the ones who came made it perfect! The kids had so much fun running and chasing and laughing! The adults all enjoyed visiting and getting to know each other. I’m sure we’ll do it again some time next year.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neighborhood Cookout

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Looks like so much fun! Nice weather for a campfire too, even though it was cool, it was cozy. I like that.

    Like

    • It was cool, but no rain, and folks wore jackets. The adults sat around the fire, the kids ran around and had so much fun. Few of us had known each other before. It was very friendly and fun and a lot work but I’m glad we did it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

