Sounds In The Night

Today has been a very slow day for me. It could be because I’ve not gotten a good night’s sleep in a long time. Insomnia is the culprit. I’m not sure what to do about it. I stay in bed as long as I can but that’s hard to do when I’m wide awake. I usually get up and go to sit in my Lazy Boy chair in the loft with the window wide open. I  spend a lot of time in the night praying. I also read some times, watch TV, gaze out the window, etc.

Last night I heard coyotes capture something. It was a very sad horrid sound. Thank goodness it didn’t last long. I hear coyotes quite often but usually it’s just their high pitched yelping and screeching. Last night was different.

I also often hear owls hooting. One night one captured a rabbit just under my loft window. The poor rabbit. They only make sounds when they are cornered. This one was cornered…and caught. Oh my, the sounds that came from that rabbit tore my heart. I even prayed that he would hurry up and die. I know it’s just nature but it’s still hard to hear in the middle of the night.

Raccoon’s are a common visitor to our yard in the night. Possums are common too. Only once or twice have I had to close the window quickly because I could smell something and was worried about a skunk! We have motion lights so whenever a visitor comes near the light turns on. It’s really neat to see our visitors.

Sometimes I can’t see whomever the visitor is if he/she is in the woods but yet caused the motion light to turn on. One night a big noisy animal went lumbering through the woods. He came two nights in a row and I couldn’t get even a glimpse of him. It could have been a bear, one was found in a ditch a couple of miles away a few days later. It could have been a wild boar, they’ve also been sighted in the area.

I saw a fox one night. A coyote came through during the day one time. Of course we have deer often. They are our favorite.

So having insomnia can be a plus sometimes. But I still need my sleep so I can function during the day. I hope I’ll sleep tonight!!!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me.... Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sounds In The Night

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Sorry you are not sleeping. I am making that a matter of prayer.
    Not to sound like a mother hen, but how is your blood sugar and cholesterol. I started monitoring my blood sugar, and found out I do better with less or no added sugar. Also have been eating fruit and veggies more and fiber. Sometimes the fiber is in the veggies and fruit plus I eat oatmeal and 100% Whole wheat bread, no white, or pasta made from white flour. My bowels move better and more regular and I’m sleeping better. Also eating lots of nuts, mostly almonds and walnuts. Helps too. Just thought I’d share. Praying for you, that you would find answers. (forgot to mention lots of water) Hugs….

    Like

    • Thanks Sue. I do most of what you wrote. I should drink more water. It’s nice to know you care. Last night I slept from about 10:30 to around 3:00 am. Then I slept again around five and woke up about 6:30.

      Like

  2. Barb says:

    Praying for you miss Anita! I had a really long fight with insomnia, it’s the pits!! At least you are getting some quality time with the Lord though!! I’ll be praying that you gets some rest soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

