Grandma’s School Day #41

I love this picture of Armon sitting in the driver's seat...Roger is reflected in the door of the truck!

Armon is wearing a firefighter's helmet!

Roger is putting the heavy jacket on Armon!

Roger put on his whole fire fighting outfit for Armon, even though it's terribly hot! He's on his knees so he's the right height for Armon, but he even has his boots on and his oxygen tank!

The lights are flashing, I’m not sure if you can see them, but they are. Armon listening to cousin Lieutenant Roger explain about the lights and siren.

We finished our tour just in time...they're off to a fire or an emergency!

There they go…

Today we went on a field trip as a bonus to our summer of studying in Grandma’s School. We went to visit Fire House #2! That’s where I have two great nephews, Roger and Ryan, working as fire men! Roger has recently been promoted to Lieutenant! He have us a royal tour!

We saw how the fire men live, living room, kitchen, bedroom, exercise. There’s no more sliding down a pole like in my younger days! It’s all on one level.

Then we saw the trucks! That was so exciting to Armon! He got to sit in the driver’s seat wearing the head phones. He put on the air brakes!

Roger put on his whole fire fighting outfit for us, even though it was very hot and made him sweat.

It was quite a tour and experience for Armon. Lieutenant Roger Bebeau, my great nephew, gave us an excellent tour.

It even ended in an exciting climax! An alarm came in and the firemen had to make an emergency run! Hopefully it wasn’t anything major but I really don’t know yet!

Roger had just taken off all his fire fighting gear when the alarm went off so he had to put it all back on!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, Lieutenant Roger Bebeau for a super fun learning experience for a young boy so new to America and so eager to learn.

Off they go to a fire!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Grandma's School, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grandma’s School Day #41

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Always loved the fire dept. tours when I taught first grade.

    Like

    • allinthedayof says:

      Well, he may go again as a class field trip but this was really special for him. I think he’ll always remember it. Thanks for commenting, Sue.

      Like

  2. Pamela says:

    What a great idea! I am sure Armon learned a lot. You have done really well this summer keeping your school interesting and varied.

    Like

Leave a Reply

