Grandma’s School

This morning at 9:30 Grandma’s School opened for the first time. Armon is the only student and the purpose is to help him be ready for first grade in the fall. He’s a very intelligent little boy, very active, very loving, very interested in everything… He needs help focusing on sounds, letters, concentration, etc.

We began with me reading a book to him, The Story About Ping by Marjorie Flack and Kurt Wiese. It’s a very cute story about a duck in China, so we found Michigan and China on the globe.

Desk work came next, working on the sounds of the vowel a. He did well.

Lorraine suggested I have him write a story. Thanks, Lorraine, that was a good idea! His story today was about motorcycles! He loves motorcycles. (He dictated it to me.)

Then we read two stories in a Dick & Jane Primer. This is going to take some work! But this was only the first day. He’ll catch on quickly.

We watched the birds in the back yard and talked about their differences, colors, sizes, etc. I gave him a bird book so he can look at it at home. I’m hoping this will help him learn to focus. I think it will.

Hopefully, I can show a picture or two tomorrow. So stay tuned to Grandma’s School!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Grandma's School. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grandma’s School

  1. ruth says:

    Loved reading about your grandma school. Doing small things with great love…you are revealing God’s glory to Armon…no higher calling really. Hoping today is another good day of school!
    Love,
    Ruth

    Like

Leave a Reply

