April

April is supposed to be spring but it seems to have a hard time letting go of winter. New versus old. Oh my, that’s a lot like me! I love new things, but there’s something about the old things… I love new concepts, but there’s something endearing about the old…

April reminds me of adolescents. Life is changing for them, they are becoming young adults, but there’s something about childhood that’s so hard to give up…

An example of this was so clear to me one day when I went for a walk in a park with a young friend of mine. She was about 12 years old at the time. As we walked we talked about school, family, friends, God, boys, all the things that a young girl about to become a teenager is interested in and wondering about. I felt honored that she was comfortable sharing her inner thoughts with me. After all I was old enough to be her grandmother. Near the end of our walk we came to a playground area. She saw the swings and suddenly grabbed my hand! “Oh, can we swing? Will you push me?”

Where did the adolescent girl go who was about to become a teenager? Well, she was still with me but childhood was too precious to just leave behind. We played a while and then as we went on our way she once again became the young girl so in love with life, eager to see where God would be leading her. What did life hold for her?

Life does not stand still. April will turn to May. Spring will slowly make that transition to warmth, flowers blooming, bees buzzing, birds singing, mosquitoes pestering. The picture I posted here shows the first flowers to bloom in my yard. Crocus. These hardy little flowers don’t mind the snow and the cold. They bravely burst forth encouraging us and saying, “See, spring is here!” So just be patient, spring is here and will soon be warm again.   April showers bring May flowers.

Oh yes, back to my young friend. To bring you up to date…today she is studying to become a nurse and she’s in love! God has a wonderful plan just for her, as He has for every person who chooses to obey Him.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Seasons, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April

  1. Gary says:

    Anita, thanks for pointing me to this blog … great job writing and conveying the sense of new and old … and recognizing such an amazing personality in your 12-year-old friend! Thanks again!

    Like

  2. hopeinbrazil says:

    Lovely thoughts, Anita!

    Like

  3. Connie says:

    Oh how I hope to live fully in the present while growing in all the Lord has for me. Thanks for sharing your memory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

